Diocese Holds 2024 Convention in Bluffton

Taylor Daniel and Ted McNabb chat before the Holy Eucharist Service during Convention

Bishop Chip Edgar called the Anglican Diocese of South Carolina to exercise hospitality in his address to the 2024 Convention. The event, which drew more than 300 clergy, delegates and guests to the Cross Schools in Bluffton, was held March 8-9.

“If we are true to our nature as the people God has called to himself, keeping our blessings to ourselves is not an option,” he said.

He urged those present to be ready to welcome the stranger.  “People by the thousands continue to move to South Carolina… Many are unchurched, and study after study suggests that unchurched folks are more likely to visit a church plant than an established church,” he said. “But many are churched, too, and churched folks are more likely to look for churches. To be hospitable, we have to both strengthen our existing churches and plant new ones.”

He made three proposals: “One, that we continue to encourage deaneries to work together to strategize church planting, and we set the goal for ourselves to add a new congregation to our diocese each year going forward; two, we reestablish our Congregational Development Committee to help our existing congregations; and three, that we, as a diocese, continue to raise up and emphasize the ministry and work of deacons in our diocese.”

The Bishop also highlighted the strategic ministries occurring on our college campuses and Camp Jubilee, and called on those present to support them with their prayers and financial gifts.

On Friday night, in addition to hearing the Bishop’s address, which was given during the service of Holy Eucharist, attendees shared a dinner together and saw two videos. One told the inspiring story of the launch of the Church of the Holy Spirit, Daniel Island. Holy Spirit is the new name of a congregation which had been a satellite campus of the Church of the Holy Cross, Daniel Island. The second video gave an update on the construction of the Parish Church at Habersham, which was planted by the Parish Church of St. Helena in Beaufort.

Also, on Friday night Bishop Edgar presented the new diocesan seal, which was received enthusiastically. As he described each individual element in the seal they appeared on the screen until the full design was revealed. The symbols include a cross, Bible, dove, slain lamb, river, sword and crozier, and baptismal font.


Business Meeting

During Saturday’s business meeting the convention passed the $2.6 million 2024 budget, heard a report from the Rev. Canon Laura Bowman on the implementation of new processes for protecting our youth and children from sexual abuse, and received an update on Camp Jubilee from the Rev. Canon Ken Weldon and Justin Johnson. The Camp Jubilee video they showed illustrated the exciting, joyful, and much-needed work being accomplished through that ministry.



The following individuals were elected to serve the diocese:

Standing Committee: The Rev. Bill Clarkson, Holy Apostles, Barnwell; The Rev. Jeremy Shelton, St. John’s Parish Church, Johns Island; Bob Kunes, St. Philip’s Church, Charleston; Shirley Wiggins, Church of the Redeemer, Pineville

Diocesan Council: The Rev. C. J. Ausmus, Christ Church Anglican, Mt. Pleasant; The Rev. Taylor Daniel, Campus Communion at College of Charleston; Joanna McMurphy, St. Philip’s Church, Charleston; Elizabeth Tezza, Holy Cross, Sullivan’s Island

Ecclesiastical Court: The Rev. Brian McGreevy, St. Philip’s Church, Charleston; Lori Moore, St. John’s Parish Church, Johns Island

Provincial Assembly: The Rev. David Booman, The Church of the Holy Comforter, Sumter; The Rev. Canon Laura Bowman, Holy Cross, Sullivan’s Island; The Rev. Janet Echols, St. Matthew’s, Ft. Motte; The Rev. Dr. Charles Echols, St. Matthew’s, Ft. Motte; The Very Rev. Ron Greiser, Resurrection, Surfside Beach; The Rev. Canon Dr. Sandi Kerner, The Cathedral of St. Luke and St. Paul, Charleston; The Rev. Dr. Jady Koch, St. Luke’s, Hilton Head; The Rev. Canon Bob Lawrence, The Cathedral of St. Luke and St. Paul, Charleston; The Rev. Jim Lewis, Christ Church Anglican, Mt. Pleasant; Zach Barton, The Cathedral Church of St. and St. Paul, Charleston; John Benson, Prince George Winyah, Georgetown; Janis Breazeale, St. Matthew’s Parish Church, Fort Motte; Anna Bruner, The Cathedral of St. Luke and St. Paul, Charleston; Mallory Gum (youth), Christ Church Anglican, Mt. Pleasant; Joy Hunter, Good Samaritan, Summerville; Cathy Jacobs, St. Paul’s, Summerville; Justin Johnson, Christ Church, Mt. Pleasant; Mark Kanaparthi, All Saints’ Church, Florence



Nine resolutions were brought before the convention for consideration. Three were second votes amending the constitution regarding the legal name of the Diocese, the role of the Standing Committee, and references to the treasurer. Two subsequent convention votes are required to amend the constitution. These resolutions had been approved during our previous convention and were passed again. The convention also approved a resolution revising our canons regarding the Prevention of Sexual Misconduct in the Diocese. The revised canon provides that each parish and mission in the Diocese will adopt the new ADOSC Child and Youth Protection Policy Manual. The convention approved a new canon defining the bishops that may serve in our diocese to assist the Diocesan Bishop and updated our episcopal election processes to make our rules consistent with ACNA protocols. A first vote on a change to the Constitution regarding the election process was also approved.

Three resolutions which would have revised our diocesan canons, constitution, and standing resolutions to include gender-neutral language were not approved. A resolution allowing canonically resident deacons active in local ministry to vote at convention was tabled.


Vote to Welcome Church of the Holy Spirit

One of the highlights of the convention was the welcoming of the Church of the Holy Spirit, Daniel Island. The congregation was welcomed on Friday and their new status was officially voted on during Saturday’s business meeting. The clergy and representatives of the parish received a standing ovation.


Additional Business

Bishop Edgar recognized the new clergy of the diocese, inviting them to come forward where he prayed for them. The new clergy are: The Rev. David Rowe, The Rev. Joel Billings, The Rev. Thad Bullock, The Rev. Chet Houston, The Rev. Scott Poelker, The Rev. Doug Ringer and The Rev. Earl Sease. He also recognized and prayed for those transferring into the diocese: The Rev. CJ Ausmus, The Rev. David Cumbie, The Rev. Kelly O’Lear, The Rev. Jacob Rogers, The Rev. Stephen Scarff and The Rev. Chip Strickland. The Bishop also remembered the clergy who have died in the past year: The Rev. Rick Belser, The Rev. Eddie Driggers and The Rev. Canon Mike Malone.



Before adjourning the meeting, Bishop Edgar thanked the youth commission and the staff and volunteers of the Church of the Cross, Bluffton, for hosting the convention. He announced that the 2025 Convention will be held March 14-15 at St. Philip’s Church, Charleston.



Printed Materials
Bishop Edgar’s Convention Address
2024 Approved Budget


Video Links
Bishop Edgar’s Convention Address
Bishop Edgar explains the new Diocesan Seal. 
Canon Laura Bowman explains the revising of our canons regarding the Prevention of Sexual Misconduct in the Diocese
Launch of Church of the Holy Spirit, Daniel Island
Groundbreaking of The Parish Church at Habersham
Update from Camp Jubilee


Audio Links
Bishop Edgar’s Convention Address